School Board Meeting, March 19, 2024

3 earn Shining Star awards at School Board meeting
Posted on 03/20/2024

Three students earned Shining Star awards at the March 19 regular Stanwood-Camano School Board meeting.

The board heard an update from Cedarhome Elementary principal Kimberly Caldwell on the school’s Annual Action Plans in addition to honoring Anya Gavrish as the school’s Shining Star for the year.

Church Creek Campus principal Ryan Pike, who presented the school’s Annual Action Plan update during the March 5 meeting, returned to honor Cooper Landucci of Lincoln Academy and Nicole Jacobsen of Lincoln Hill High with Shining Star awards.

Then, Superintendent Dr. Deborah Rumbaugh provided an Enrollment Report update, and Ruth Floyd, Executive Director of Business Services, gave a report on the district’s Risk Management Program Status.

The school board then accepted two donations: 

  • $2,500 from the University of Washington for Stanwood High School to build and sustain inclusive school assessment. 

  • $1,763.35 from the Skagit Symphony to cover the transportation costs for the 5th grade elementary field trips to the “Peter & the Wolf” performance at the Skagit Symphony in Mount Vernon.

  • $440.25 from the Twin City PTA to cover the transportation costs for the Twin City Elementary field trips to the Stillaguamish Tribe Community Center.

The school board adjourned for a Study Session to review and discuss the annual WSSDA Revision Proposals.

For more information about the meeting, see the agenda or watch a video recording.

The school board will next host its regular meeting at 6 p.m. April 16. Meetings are in the boardroom at the Stanwood-Camano School District Administration & Resource Center at 26920 Pioneer Highway in Stanwood. Sign up for public comment HERE.

For more about the School Board, click HERE.