The Stanwood High School Technology Student Association had 19 students compete in the 26th Annual Washington TSA State Conference on March 13-14, 2009 and the SHS team qualified for the national competition this summer. 

Ross Short, Stanwood High School TSA Advisor, announced the recipients earning awards at the state competition:
Agriculture & Biotechnology Design
 2nd  Scott Weisse & Garrett Schorsch
Architectural Model  4th  Taryn Hynek, Brock Reinecke, & Michael McCune
CAD Engineering with Animation
 2nd  Mason Wrolstad
Construction Systems
 1st  Jay Bonnifield & Dan McGlinchy
Construction Systems
 2nd  Josh Katanik & Garrett Schorsch
Formula 1 Design Challenge
 1st  Colton Sanford, Mason Wrolstad, Tyler Erickson, Colton Schorsch, & Cale Kaufman
Promotional Graphics
 3rd  Trevin Harris
Technical Math
 4th  Peter Holmes
Technical Math
 5th  Trevin Harris
Technology Dare
 2nd  Peter Holmes & Trevin Harris
Transportation Modeling
 1st  Sam Harris

In addition to the above awards two students were elected to serve as TSA State Officers:

  • Scott Weisse was elected State Secretary; and
  • Peter Holmes was elected State Treasure.

Six SHS students were honored with the Silver Achievement Award for their Leadership, Citizenship, Technical Skills, and Career Preparation. They were Jay Bonnifield, Cale Kaufman, Colton Sanford, Taryn Hynek, Scott Weisse, and Colton Schorsch.

The Technology Student Association fosters personal growth, leadership, and opportunities in technology, innovation, design, and engineering. Members apply and integrate science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) concepts through co-curricular activities, competitive events and related programs.

Great job SHS students and good luck at Nationals this summer.